Banknotes of the modern world
Countries list Banknotes for trade Guest book Grading the banknotes Security features Send e-mail to webmaster Switch to Russian version
Choose the country's first letter:    A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 
Zaire / Democratic Republic of Congo
see also:

Choose the year of issue:

Zaires of 1974-1981
Zaires of 1982-1987
Zaires of 1988-1993
New zaires of 1993-1998

Before 1911 the belgian franc was used as a legal tender in the Belgian Congo - until replaced by the congolaise franc. In 1967 the new currency unit - the zaire - was introduced. After hard inflation, a monetary reform took place in 1993 to introduce the new zaire, divided into 100 likuta (plural - makuta). Due to the changes in the country, Zaire was transformed into Democratic Republic of Congo, and now it's currency is the franc, divided into 100 centimes. Click here to see DR Congo banknotes.

© 1999-2002 Dennis LL. All rights reserved.
Hosted by uCoz